Brazoria Drainage District No. 4

Brazoria Drainage District No. 4 was created by Brazoria County Commissioners Court on June 28, 1910 and on May 22, 1929, was made a Conservation and Reclamation District by Special Bill No. 25 of the Texas State Legislature. The District is governed by a 3 member elected Board of Commissioners.

Jurisdiction - Brazoria Drainage District No. 4 encompasses an 83.4 square mile area of northern Brazoria County which includes the Cities of Pearland and Brookside Village. Its boundaries from west to east are Fort Bend County to Galveston County and from Clear Creek (Harris County) to a point just north of Alvin, Texas and Manvel, Texas. Major drainage arteries include: Clear Creek, Hickory Slough, Mary's Creek, Cowarts Creek, Chigger Creek and portions of Mustang Bayou. Principal subdivisions located in the district include: Country Place, Silver Lake, Southwyck, Crystal Lake, West Oaks, Springfield, Sunset Meadows, Sunset Lakes, Meadow View, Pine Hollow, West Wood, Dixie Woods, and Oak Brook Estates.
Mission - The District is a political subdivision of the State of Texas whose mission is to detain, control, preserve, and distribute the storm and flood waters within its jurisdiction. The District works with local, state, federal, and county agencies to maintain existing flood control systems, construct additions and modifications, and regulate additions and modifications proposed by others. To achieve this mission The District:
  1.       1. develops sound fiscal procedures to protect taxpayers monies
  2.       2. designs near-term and long-term goals and objectives
  3.       3. established rules and regulations for drainage development
  4.       4. schedules labor force and equipment to meet maximum efficiencies and use thereof
Operations - To carry out its mission the District employs a superintendent and 55 full time employees whose primary job is to maintain, reclaim and modify the drainage arteries within its jurisdiction.
The District is responsible for the control of flooding within its boundaries. As such, the district works in conjunction with local state, federal and other county agencies to maintain existing flood control systems, construct additions and modifications and review additions and modifications proposed by others.
The District was divided into six sections for mowing purposes. Men and equipment are assigned a specific section. They always mow the same area, allowing them to become familiar with the terrain.

Jeff Brennan


Took his current position in office in 2005 and serves as Chairman. Served as Commissioner and Chairman of the Board 1995-2002 Represents BDD4 on Clear Creek Steering Committee, Corps of Engineers Clear Creek Project, Dickinson Bayou Watershed. Promoted Community Service Program - 1997. President Pearland Rotary 2005-2006, Past President Rotary Club 1995-1996, President Fast Break Club Boys Basketball Booster Club and a Member St. Helen Catholic Church.

Dan Keller


Elected to serve as Commissioner in 2005 and currently serves as Board Secretary. Pearland's fourth mayor, serving from 1965 - 1972. Originator and founder of the City Charter, Zoning/Land Use, City Library. Preserved the Historical Santa Fe RR Depot, Charter Member/Chairman/Founder of first Drug Abuse Program, (Standby) Regional (Galveston County / Brazoria County Mental Health/Mental Retardation Center), Pearland Civil Service, Brazoria County M.U.D. #2 and #3, Brazoria Drainage District #4 1994 - 1996.

Harrison Rogers


Harrison Rogers began his term as board member in 2011. He also serves on the Brookside Village ordinance committee. Previously he was a city council member, and served as the Brookside Village representative on the Clear Creek Watershed Steering Committee. He is a retired engineer from Schlumberger Technology Corp and worked 40 years in oilfield services.